Volunteers of the Year

Each year, each of our leagues award a deserving volunteer with the league Volunteer of the Year award.  Those volunteers are recognized at our annual District Opening Ceremonies that precede the first game of the Little League Baseball tournament.

Additionally, the District awards a Volunteer of the Year to recognize those that have served the District and/or Member Leagues.  Here are the past recipients of the District 1 Volunteer of the Year award:

2023 Stamford Springdale and North Volunteers:  Tom Duddie, Tony Strazza, Joe Calindrelli, Rich Moravero, Jim Caterbone, Scott Brown, Ed and Terri Condon, Junie and Sandra DeLeo

2022  David Brown, Stamford National and Stamford National-American LL

2021  Special recognition honoring Jim Caterbone for 50+ years of service to Springdale Little League, CT D1, and Stamford North LL

2020  No award - COVID

2019  Steve Scalzo, Ridgefield LL

2018  Brian Martin, Stamford LL Challengers

2017  Special recognition honoring Joseph "Junie" DeLeo for 50 years of service to Springdale and Stamford North LL

2016  Mickey Vitti, Stamford Federal, Assistant District Administrator, and District 1 Umpire in Chief

2015  Brian Maloney, Stamford Federal and Stamford National LL

2014  Anthony Zezima, Assistant District Administrator and Stamford LL

2013  Scott Miller, District Administrator and Stamford American LL, Weston LL

2012  Joe "Junie" DeLeo, Stamford Springdale LL

2011  Larry Miller, Assistant District Administrator and Stamford American LL and Jerry LaMotta, Stamford American LL

2010  Andy Acocella, Redding LL

2009  Mike Laguardia, Assistant District Administrator, Softball Umpire in Chief

2008  Perry Pierce, Assistant District Administrator and Darien LL

2007  Steve Hefferan, Norwalk Ben Whone LL and Bruce Yuen, Assistant District Administrator and Ridgefield LL

2006  Billy DeVito, Stamford National Lione LL

2005  Michael Carter, Weston LL

2004  Beth Cooper, Stamford American LL and Rob Rossi, Assistant District Administrator, Umpire in Chief, and Norwalk Ben Whone LL

2003  Frank Noto, Stamford Federal LL and Springdale LL Community

2002  Darien LL Community

2001  Mark Kolier, Wilton LL

2000  Bill Fitzgerald, Rowayton LL

1999  Charlie Santos-Buch, Darien LL

1998  Jim Fransen, District Administrator, Stamford Federal and Ridgefield LLs and Cindy Pierce, Darien LL

1997  Tim Meehan, Assistant District Administrator and Norwalk Ben Whone LL

1996  Jim Caterbone, Jr., Assistant District Administrator and Springdale LL

1995  Dave Scott, Ridgefield LL

1994  Bill Terry, Assistant District Administrator and Wilton LL

1993  Jim Caputo, Springdale LL

1992  Bob Michaelowski, District Administrator

1991  Larry McClellan, Assistant District Administrator and Darien LL

Local Sponsors